European Travel Covid-19 Restrictions

As of May 3, the European Commission reviewed its plans for fully vaccinated people to travel to the EU.  Easing of the Covid-19 restrictions that have been in place for almost a year will be part of the Digital Green Certificate program.  This certificate is proof that a person has received a negative test result, recovered from the virus or been fully vaccinated.

Travel restrictions are in place in many countries to control the spread of COVID-19. Passengers arriving in the UK on indirect flights will be quarantined for 14 days. Flights to and from South Africa and Brazil have been banned due to the new Covid 19 variant. On arrival, most travellers must present a travel permit and quarantine. Albania has curfews from 10pm to 6am, but the overall restrictions are low. (1)

The Council adopted on 30 June a Recommendation on the gradual lifting of temporary restrictions on non-essential travel to and from the European Union. On 25 June, the European Commission, together with a Council Recommendation, adopted a proposal to lift travel restrictions in all countries agreed by all Member States. Travel restrictions in the countries listed in the Recommendation have been lifted and will in principle be updated every two weeks. Travel restrictions have also been lifted in specific administrative regions of China (Hong Kong and Macao), subject to reciprocity. (6)

From a German perspective, Greece is still considered an infection risk area, but the situation is gradually easing. Visitors must be registered before entering the country. Travel to Greece will only be possible if all restrictions and conditions are lifted by 15 May. (7)

A national green vaccination certificate has been introduced to allow people to travel to the country. Italy has relaxed restrictions in some countries. In principle, entry to most parts of Europe is permitted if a person entering the country presents a negative COVID 19 test result, which can be taken within 48 hours of entry, undergoes a five-day quarantine and presents a negative test within five days. (7)

Visitors to the Vatican, Australia, Singapore, Thailand, New Zealand, South Korea and Rwanda may enter without restriction. Travel to countries outside the European Union is prohibited with the exception of press and ground travel. Anyone entering the EU from these countries must present a negative PCR test, with the exception of cross-border workers. Restaurants can serve their guests indoors as long as they are vaccinated and have a negative test result. Some countries are opening up because they have the virus under control. (1)

November 23, 2020: The country introduces a mandatory negative coronavirus test for all trips to Spain. 8 January 2021: Several regions tighten their entry restrictions following an increase in COVID cases during the Christmas break. The only flights allowed to the United Kingdom, South Africa and Brazil carry Spanish and Spanish nationals, Andorran nationals and residents, and transit passengers to final destinations outside Schengen. On 30 January 2021, Spain and Portugal agreed to reintroduce customs controls at their common land border. 9 March 2021: Spain extends travel restrictions on visitors from the US, South Africa and Brazil until 30 March. March 23, 2021 – Announces that the UK flight ban will not be extended beyond March 30. (0)

February 25, 2021: The Government halts all non-essential travel to EU, UK, Denmark and Norway countries. The ban was in place until March 31. All non-essential travel outside the EU has been banned. There were also recommendations to get tested on arrival. Arriving passengers had to submit a negative PCR test result. (0)

There is no longer a curfew and international air traffic has been suspended. The cost of assisting travelers. International commercial flights are still available, but visitors must submit a negative PCR test and health insurance. Ports are prohibited for traffic in the country and cases of COVID-19 have been reported. International air traffic is possible by land and sea, but borders remain closed. The provinces of Sinai, the Red Sea provinces and other recipient countries will not allow travellers to cross these borders. National air travel will be possible. (2)

All passengers arriving by plane must provide a negative PCR test carried out within the previous 72 hours. Unnecessary tourist trips to countries with a 14-day incidence of more than 150%, including Germany, are not permitted. The land borders with Spain have also been reopened, among other facilities. Unless it is carried out at the airport, and it must be at your own expense. (7)

With effect from 2 February, the northern European country of Estonia has declared that anyone vaccinated against COVID-19 can enter the country without having to submit to mandatory 10-day quarantine and COVID-19 testing requirements. The government said vaccinated travelers must abide by the health measures in force in the country. The U.S. Embassy in Croatia reminded travelers that tourists who meet the above conditions may enter Croatia as long as they provide proof that they have paid in advance for their accommodation in Croatia and have fully arrived at the border. From 1 February 2021, vaccinated travellers from any country will be allowed to enter Georgia, but will have to present documents confirming their Covid 19 vaccination status. (3)

The COVID-19 pre-test on arrival is required for all arriving travellers to provide proof of vaccination and a negative PCR test result (Covid-19), which can take up to 72 hours. The COVID-19 vaccine is required but does not provide evidence that it is vaccinated against COVID-19 before it falls under the restrictions. (5)

US citizens without a vaccination certificate are not allowed to enter. A certificate of vaccination against COVID-19 and confirmation of a previous Covid-19 infection exempts persons who are allowed to enter the EU from quarantine and testing requirements. However, individuals are not exempt from the current travel restrictions. Third-country nationals who have been fully vaccinated against Covids-19 or who have been confirmed to have a previous Covids-19 infection will not be allowed to travel to Europe until they present the necessary documents on arrival to prove that they are exempt from the restrictions. From 6 April 2021, those who provide valid proof of full vaccination and proof of previous infection will be exempt from quarantine. (5)

All European countries have been removed from this category. Travellers from category A countries must have a PCR test carried out within 72 hours of arrival in Cyprus. For those who come from other countries, a negative test is mandatory; they can travel to Cyprus without any travel restrictions, but only from a limited number of category A. (2)

Luxembourg does not restrict its borders to other European visitors to visit Europe or travel to Europe, but bans visitors from countries considered low risk to the EU: Australia, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea and Thailand. Countries will be allowed access to most EEA countries on arrival, but proof of a negative COVID-19 test must be provided within 48 hours of entry and, as a result, a mandatory 10-day quarantine is required; persons who test negative must have the result by day 7. Anyone boarding an aircraft in Luxembourg who has a negative Covid 19 test result must spend 72 hours on board the aircraft and be quarantined for 14 days if there is a negative test. Countries that follow the ECDC traffic light map are allowed to access, but travel is restricted. (4)